Address: Malé náměstí 1 / Karlova 27, Praha 1-Staré Město
Year: 12th century; 1374 (first written record); 1485–1514; 1886 (Neorenaissance conversion); 2000 (restoration)
Architects: original architect unknown
The beautiful palace, also called U Anděla (“At an Angel‘s”), has undergone, like most other Old Town buildings, many restorations. The current name of the palace has its origin in the 19th century when a Swedish concern called Ericsson had its seat here. Its history dates back to the Middle Ages and it is connected with the name of the famous Czech Gothic builder Matěj Rejsek. He is the author of a ribbed arched hall, which takes its inspiration from the St. Vitus Chapel at Prague Castle. Part of the tour is also a visit to the vast Gothic cellars with preserved stone vaults featuring traces of almost all historical periods. Let yourself be enchanted by the breathtaking atmosphere of the Middle Ages!